Michele Pepe

Thanks to those who responded to me with ideas about how to help my “fire fighting” team see the virtues of long term planning and manage those pesky “urgent” issues that never seem to go away. Great ideas! I brought them back to the team and we will be implementing some of them. I’ll keep you posted.

Here’s the latest experience I’ve had (perhaps you can relate to this one too):

At our most recent meeting, the staff person, who is our primary liaison to the CEO, shared with the team many upcoming issues for discussion (of course, urgent). She asked for our input and ideas about these issues. Everything from timing of events, ways to handle them, examples from the past, pros and cons, possible outcomes, etc. We probably spent 30 minutes on two major issues alone. The team gave very strong feedback about what was being proposed, their…

View original post 578 more words

